Reviews

Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel nice clean room nice breakfast cooked breakfast and cereals.cosy bed only 5/10 mins walk to Minster would recommend to family and friends and would stay here again and very nice staff 😀

Reviewer: Darren Hodgson | Wed 22nd Mar 2017


Very nice stay - Rating 5/5

Great B&B within walking distance of all the York sights. LOVELY full breakfast!! A very nice overall feeling of fully experiencing the town. Fiona and the staff are WONDERFUL hosts!

Reviewer: Mr. Paul Vining | Tue 21st Mar 2017


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Helpful and accommodating staff from booking to checkout. A beautiful place with lots of charm.

Reviewer: Christopher Skinner | Mon 20th Mar 2017


Delightful Hotel - Rating 5/5

Delightful place.lovely room and excellent breakfast. Will certainly come again.

Reviewer: Stephen Radford | Sat 18th Mar 2017


Brilliant hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely and brilliant hotel. Very clean and tidy everywhere in the hotel. Free car park in York, which is a bonus in York.

Reviewer: Ali Al-Anizi | Tue 14th Mar 2017


Last minute - Rating 5/5

Very helpful and pleasant staff Looking to stay again very soon as we do like a night out In York 😊 Also berry was great Cheers JW

Reviewer: jeff watts | Tue 14th Mar 2017


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We found 23 St Marys to be a very good quality B&B. Our room was spacious and very well appointed. The proprietor and staff were very attentive. It is ideally located to the walled town and its attractions (about a 5 mins walk) I would highly recommend this B&B and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Rogers | Tue 24th Jan 2017


23 st mary\'s - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome at the guest house. Very helpful. The room was very comfortable and well decorated.... the breakfast had a great cold and hot selection. We will be recommending. The location was perfect for visiting the city, no more than a 10 minute walk in. Thank you again.

Reviewer: Lucy King | Mon 16th Jan 2017


Perfect base - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at 233 St Mary\'s many times - that says it all, really. We return because it is a comfortable, well run b & b in a very convenient location. The staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms all you could want and the breakfasts lovely. Looking forward to our next stay.

Reviewer: Mrs. Margaret Boyd | Thu 12th Jan 2017


Great night away - Rating 5/5

As always a lovely night away in a luxuriously rich, quality b&b. Quality linen beds pillows , top end breakfast too. All with free parking and 5 minuite walk from shops and restaurant.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Ashcroft | Mon 9th Jan 2017


Quality assured - Rating 5/5

As always a lovely night away in a luxuriously rich, quality b&b. Quality linen beds pillows , top end breakfast too. All with free parking and 5 minuite walk from shops and restaurant.

Reviewer: Mr. Ian Ashcroft | Mon 9th Jan 2017


Great hotel ! - Rating 5/5

Everything was 5 stars class. The room and the bathroom was very clean and bright. The personal was very kind. I like everything!

Reviewer: Marian Popia | Mon 9th Jan 2017


excellent. - Rating 5/5

Had a two nights stay . The accomation was spotless. Breakfast was one of the best we have had and the staff were so friendly. We shall certainly stay there again . We give St Mary\'s 10 out of 10.

Reviewer: mrs doherty | Fri 6th Jan 2017


Fantastic Stay! - Rating 5/5

Had a really lovely stay over new year. The breaky is delicious! Room was lovely with a super comfy bed. It was my girlfriends birthday on the first and they bought and cake, some champagne and sung happy birthday, very sweet. Thank you for a lovely stay 🙂

Reviewer: Samuel Gough | Thu 5th Jan 2017


Could not fault it! - Rating 5/5

A welcome is offered as soon as you arrive, the staff did all they could to make our stay a pleasure.

Reviewer: Peter Manchester | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


homely - Rating 5/5

Best comfy bed excellent breakfast clean room first class hospitality definitely recommend

Reviewer: Michelle Robinson | Mon 26th Dec 2016


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome, friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Room was very clean and lovely and warm but not too warm. short walk in the city centre great place to stay wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely return.

Reviewer: Mike Jeffries | Mon 26th Dec 2016


Awesome - Rating 5/5

Booked here for a last minute trip and wasn\'t disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the top floor room was great. Loved the little touches of the chocolates and lots of milk for a drink. Great place, great location and would definitely stay again

Reviewer: Paul Gladstone | Sun 25th Dec 2016


York Getaway - Rating 5/5

Superb quiet location, within an easy 5 minute stroll through pretty park to city centre.Our stay was very relaxing, with all our needs and requests taken care of in a quick professional manner. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was varied and delicious and catered for all our needs. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to everyone.

Reviewer: ROSS PATTERSON | Fri 23rd Dec 2016


superb - Rating 5/5

when we visit york we always stay here, we suggest you do too. spotlessly clean, great breakfast, great location and lovely staff, they also gave a cake with a candle and sang happy birthday to my wife. perfect! honestly you cannot better it.

Reviewer: Ms. Yvonne Canavan | Fri 23rd Dec 2016


Our stay at st marys - Rating 5/5

We stayed sat-sun 17-18th dec with our two children aged 4 and 11 and would definetly recommend it to anyone, the hotel is amazing and the staff are brilliant. I would like to say thanks to the mother and daughter team who looked after us on our stay and we will be booking with you again next year..

Reviewer: Andrew Maddox | Mon 19th Dec 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very clean and excellent service. The breakfast was extremely good also. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer: Mr. Cliff Gore | Mon 19th Dec 2016


perfect - Rating 5/5

we had a wonderful stay, the rooms are lovely and comfortable, decorated beautifully, wonderful staff, and a breakfast that was cooked to perfection, we will be back

Reviewer: David Knott | Fri 16th Dec 2016


An excellent stay .... - Rating 5/5

So clean and cosy and friendly. What more can one ask?!

Reviewer: Caroline Oliver | Thu 15th Dec 2016


last minute getaway - Rating 5/5

we have stayed in york many times and often walked past 23 st marys which looks very inviting from theoutside when the chance came up for a snatched night away we decided to give 23 st marys a try so glad we did! we were greeted by amy a lovely bubbly welcoming young lady who showed us where to park etc and found she had kindly given us a room upgrade! the place was warm welcoming beautifully decorated and spotless top quality bed pillows bedding and thick fluffy towels a home from home lovely breakfast with very attentive waitress sad it was only a short stay but definitely number 23 is my new number1! shall be returning in the new year thank you amy

Reviewer: Janet Charnley | Thu 15th Dec 2016


23 St Mary\'s York - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcome . Our room was lovely a spotless ensuite . The breakfast was fab everything you need to set you up for the day it is only a short distance to York minster and shops we would love to return in the future.

Reviewer: Mr. Julie Mansfield | Fri 9th Dec 2016


Top class - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed at 23 St Mary\'s and we returned for our second anniversary. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff and our stay could not have been any better. Our room was absolutely wonderful and the breakfast, as always, was excellent, including the \'to die for\' black pudding! We even had champagne and a dozen red roses in the room on arrival for Alison! Thank you to Simon, Fiona and the staff for a faultless stay and we have already booked to go back in 2017! If we could give 11/10 we would! Alison and Tom

Reviewer: Thomas Bridge | Fri 9th Dec 2016


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely weekend in this fabulous B&B. It is clean and beautifully decorated with great attention to detail. Friendly helpful staff, gorgeous room, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast. We only wish our stay had been longer and are already planning another visit. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Reviewer: Mrs. Ali Elliott | Mon 5th Dec 2016


23 St Mary\'s - Rating 5/5

First time at 23 st Mary\'s but it definitely won\'t be the last! beautifully presented with warm and friendly people will definitely recommend to friends and family xx

Reviewer: Andy Street | Sat 3rd Dec 2016


Last minute get away - Rating 5/5

Stayed on the 30th of November for 1 night, the room was great. We where helped from the start from the owner, from parking to helping us where we could eat and drink. Breakfast was included in our room and the breakfast was lovely. Small problem was with the shower head, it was faulty so you had to hold it wouldn\'t hit your head.

Reviewer: Liam Northend | Fri 2nd Dec 2016


Excellent B&B in centre of York - Rating 5/5

We love this place - we visit York every year and 23 St Mary\"s is ideal for us - short walk to city crntre for shopping, drinking and eateries - parking, hreat breakfast, friendly, helpful staff /owners and nice rooms to crash out in when you\'re worn out from all that sightseeing, shopping and socialising - we\'ll be back again

Reviewer: Mr. Diane Cottrell | Tue 29th Nov 2016


very good value for money - Rating 5/5

very comfortable, clean, and excellent breakfast,

Reviewer: Adam Hainsworth | Mon 28th Nov 2016


wonderful - Rating 5/5

one of the best bed and breakfasts establishments we have stayed in. Comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and very pleasant and helpful staff. An altogether wonderful weekend and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Reviewer: Mrs Rosalyn Darby | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

This is the third occasion that we have stayed at 23 St Mary\'s and again it did not disappoint. The breakfasts & quality of rooms is still at a very high standard along with the personal touch from the staff.

Reviewer: Mr. Andy Barnett | Wed 23rd Nov 2016


Ideally situated - Rating 5/5

Spent 2 nights in this lovely little hotel. The room was lovely as was the bed and linnen, the whole place was very clean and well maintaied. Some really nice features throughout the place. Breakfast was very tasty with choices, we had a cooked breakfast each day and it could not of been better, poached eggs done just right which made a nice change for a hotel. The owner and staff made us very welcome and at ease as soon as we arrived. Parking was nearby and no problem at all. Thank you all at number 23 we will certainly be back in the near future

Reviewer: Mr. John Elsom | Wed 23rd Nov 2016


Super Stay! - Rating 5/5

Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived. Comfortable room and bed. Excellent breakfast with the bonus of a birthday cake on our second day. Amy gave us lots of excellent suggestions about what to do and where to eat and was always on hand to help with whatever we needed, including lending her own personal umbrella when we were venturing out for evening dinner in the rain. Many thanks for everything. Margaret and Mark

Reviewer: Margaret Clarke | Tue 22nd Nov 2016


Quality Place with Quality Service - Rating 5/5

Everything about our stay left us to comment on how good the quality was. From the comfort of the rooms to the breakfasts. Five floors means that you should consider mobility issues when booking but that is not a criticism, just advice, as we opted for the only room still available after we booked late and everything possible was done to help.

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Laverick | Mon 21st Nov 2016


Absolutely beautiful - Rating 5/5

An incredibly well maintained property with beautiful rooms and delicious breakfast options. Easy walking distance from the centre of town (located just outside the old city walls), which means you can access parking close to the property if you\'re driving.

Reviewer: Rachel Bruechle | Sat 12th Nov 2016


Great room, great location - Rating 5/5

Can\'t speak highly enough of the property, the room and the staff. We very much enjoyed our stay and in particular, the super-king bed! The breakfast and location was also excellent.

Reviewer: Rachel Bruechle | Sat 12th Nov 2016


Very stylish and cosy - Rating 5/5

Truely English experience

Reviewer: Vladislav Vysotskiy | Fri 11th Nov 2016


weekend in york - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay at 23 st marys.such a beautiful house.everyone made us well so welcome.couldnt do enough for us.big shout to Amy.your a star.thanks again.ps the birthday cake was lovely 😊

Reviewer: Mr. Kevin Mccrea | Wed 9th Nov 2016


Hospitality at 23 St Mary\'s - Rating 4/5

The accommodation is well appointed with friendly staff The location of the property make it very convenient for access to the shops and attractions of York city centre. The cleanliness of the accommodation is first class.

Reviewer: Mr. Malcolm Campbell | Tue 8th Nov 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for the warm welcome in your beautiful guest house. Lovely comfortable room, fluffy towels, plentiful compliments tray and wonderful breakfast. Parking easy and a lovely helpful team of staff. It could not have been better!

Reviewer: Mr. tracey hart | Wed 2nd Nov 2016


Halloween weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely relaxed weekend. Polite and friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. In a good location just 5 minutes walk from the Minster. WRooms comfortable and clean in a lovely quiet street. Would recommend.

Reviewer: Mr. Julie Perkins | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Our first time at St Mary\'s and will certainly not be our last. We will have no problem recommending the guest house to anyone. The room was very good and the staff were very friendly, many thanks for making our stay very enjoyable. Gill & Tom

Reviewer: Mr. Thomas Hanratty | Sat 29th Oct 2016


Recent stay in York - Rating 5/5

The room we had on the 2nd floor was very comfortable & we slept well. The breakfasts were good, particularly the Stornoway black pudding & the lovely fruit compote.It was also very useful to have a safe parking place for our car.

Reviewer: Mrs. Marion Kirby | Mon 24th Oct 2016


Clean and great location - Rating 5/5

Only stayed one night but would certainly go again. Great location, easy to access from train station via pedestrian walkway. Very clean. Friendly staff

Reviewer: Mr. Ron Brinnen | Sat 1st Oct 2016


Birthday treat - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable hotel. High standards. Lovely staff and breakfast. Short walk to the main York attractions, but a quiet location. Only criticisms were lack of mirror close to a socket for using hairdryer and could benefit from towel rail in bathroom. Would recommend.

Reviewer: Mrs. Elaine Trippett | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Wonderful Place to Stay in York - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at 23 St. Mary\'s. Staff was incredibly accommodating, working to ensure that our two children could be accommodated in the \"family suite\"; location was amazing; within 10 minutes on foot to the train station and the Minster; 5 minutes from the city walls. We would definitely book again.

Reviewer: Mr. Christopher Oswald | Fri 19th Aug 2016


A second great stay - Rating 5/5

I very much enjoyed my second stay at 23 St. Mary\'s. The staff is very friendly and helpful, food excellent, and the bed was very comfortable. It is also ideally situated for my purposes.

Reviewer: Miss. Virginia Cobley | Fri 15th Jul 2016


York - a discovery! - Rating 5/5

Attending a master class at the National Railway Museum, my stay at 23 St. Mary\'s turned out to be the perfect place to discover this wonderful city!

Reviewer: Mr. Roy Schedler | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Great location, great service and great breakfast! - Rating 5/5

You can\'t do much better than fresh raspberries every morning and farm fresh eggs!! Had some problem with the room but they quickly resolved the problem.There is no lift & it was difficult with carting the suitcases up the stairs but they switched rooms to the first level up from street which was much better than on the 3rd level so if you have trouble be sure to let them know. The room was quiet & well maintained.

Reviewer: Mrs. Linda Kratzer | Thu 7th Jul 2016


Our Stay - Rating 4/5

We enjoy staying at your guest house whenever we come to York. We especially like the location. Lovely Breakfast. We will try to ask for a room not so far upstairs next time as we are getting quite old!

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Warner | Sat 18th Jun 2016


weekend break - Rating 4/5

Most enjoyable stay in a lovely family run hotel. Close to the city making it easy access to get to all the sights

Reviewer: Mr. ROBERT BETTAM | Wed 25th May 2016


\'23 St. Mary\'s\' - Rating 5/5

All staff very freindly, and Hotel was nice and clean. Great location within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. And free parking too. What more could you want.

Reviewer: Mr. Scott Twiselton | Tue 15th Mar 2016


Extra Information

  • Credit Card
  • Parking Facilities
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Family Rooms
  • City Centre
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays

Changes and cancellations to bookings made up to 3 days before the arrival date/time are without charge. Thereafter the total amount may be charged.

For international payments, please use the below codes:
IBAN - GB92NWBK54304340126838
BIC - NWBKGB2L